Top Menu

About Us

The Autism Society of Southeastern Wisconsin exists to improve the lives of all affected by Autism. We do this by increasing public awareness about the day-to-day issues faced by people on the spectrum, advocating for appropriate services for individuals across the life span, and providing the latest information regarding treatment, education, research and advocacy.

We believe that each individual with autism is unique and they and their families should determine the best treatment based on individual needs. This guiding principal is expressed in the national Autism Society’s Options Policy.

The Autism Society of Southeastern Wisconsin received our chapter status from the national Autism Society in 1976. For over 40 years we have served as the primary Autism/Asperger Syndrome/PDD resource for Milwaukee, Waukesha, Racine, Kenosha, Dodge, Jefferson, Ozaukee, Walworth and Washington counties. We are a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, and your donations are tax deductible. Because of your support, we do great things!

ASSEW-Service-Area-2020-Census-Data-22222-1

Autism Society SE WI Staff Directory

Executive Director, Rechelle Chaffee
rechelle@assew.org

Development Associate, Tiffany Book
tiffany@assew.org

Office Coordinator, Ayanna Govan
ayanna@assew.org

Information Referral & Program Coordinator-Spanish Helpline, Giselle Granados
giselle@assew.org

Information Referral & Office Manager, Susan Clausing
Susan@assew.org

Volunteer Coordinator, Sue LeBuhn
sue@assew.org

Art Director, Angela Maslowski
angelam@assew.org

Community Liaison (Mukwonago), Angie Schubert
tricounty@assew.org

Administrative Assistant, Amber Smith
amber@assew.org

Development and Event Manager, Laura Van Genderen
laura@assew.org

Board of Directors

Board of Directors
Autism Society of Southeastern Wisconsin Board of Directors & Staff Executive Committee:
Executive Committee:
President: Amy Van Hecke, Ph.D., Marquette University
Past President: Howard Miller, Retired Financial Executive
Vice President: Kelly Backes, Milliman
Vice President: Rosemary Gardner, Lakeland School Retiree
Treasurer: Ryan Michalski, KPMG
Secretary: Julie Arens, Racine Unified School District
Executive Director: Rechelle Chaffee
Directors:
Nathan Abrahamson: US Bank
Rebecca “Riv” Goldman: Rockwell Automation Retiree
Matthew Griffin: Johnson Controls Inc.
Dayna Miller: Landmark Credit Union
Erin Miller: People First Wisconsin
Andrea Nelson: Unisource Insurance
Dr. Amy Romashko: Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
Susan Schoenfeld: Leaders Institute
Kevin Scholz: Advanced Hires
Dr. Cheryl Serb: ProHealth Medical Group
Jacqueline Wheeler: Wheeler Professional Practice Group

X